Rest

How did we stay up til the wee hours of the morning when we were at Judson? I’m 47 now and I feel like I’ve really accomplished something if I make it until 10:30 after the news is over to go to bed. How did we have an all-night prayer meeting at one point during Spiritual Enrichment Week? All I know is that as life moves on I need more rest. As life moves on the words of Jesus in Matthew 11:28-30 become more and more real. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

What do you need rest from today? Do you need physical rest or you more in need of emotional rest? Maybe it’s a relationship that you need rest from or a pressure that is weighing on you. Weariness can come from a multitude of sources. A hurt, a bad experience, financial problems, marital issues all can lead to a big sigh and an exclamation that “I am just tired”. Know that you are not alone. Know that most of us need rest from something or someone. Know that it is a part of the circle and the cycle of life. Know that God knows that too.

So if most of us need rest, how do we find it? In two words – be countercultural. Culture says run faster – run harder. Culture says don’t let down your guard and be real. Culture says don’t get help or it’ll show that you are weak. God says, take a Sabbath. Jesus says, come to me. If you’re tired – find rest. I’m far from perfect, but I have learned that this ol’ man needs rest. I find it in taking my Sabbath weekly, using my vacation days and actually not working. I find rest in a daily routine that involves exercise and a quiet time with God to start the day. I’ve found rest in ending or putting a pause on a draining relationship for a season. Finding a great Christian counselor is another great tool. The list of how to find rest goes on and on. The two keys are 1. Realizing you need rest and 2. Seeking God as your source of rest.

My prayer for you and me with the remaining days of this summer is that we will find a season of rest and find the path of coming to Christ as a weary, burdened soul.

Eric Rojas, Class of 1990, Executive Pastor at Christ Community Church in St. Charles, ILrest

Leave a Reply

