Yep, It’s Thanksgiving!

Like everything else you’re going to read this month, this blog has a theme of thankfulness. Don’t get me wrong, I am a very thankful person in general. That’s probably my problem. I see people, even good Christian people, that put on their thankful airs at Thanksgiving but that are crodgity, unthankful people the rest of the year. Yep, it’s thanksgiving – so what? Here’s my so what for this year – an encouragement to make a difference. If you’re a thankful person already, be more thankful! If you lean more toward the crodgity camp, then break out of it and be more thankful BEGINNING this Thanksgiving and have it continue for the rest of the year and the rest of your life.

We all have different circumstances in our lives. I remember at Judson that there were two professors for a core class I was signed up for. There was one prof I loved (I’m disguising the names and classes to protect the innocent) and there was one prof that really, really annoyed me. When I found out that I got the latter of the profs I was ticked off. I remember spouting off about it to some of my friends. One of the friends then decided to taunt me with the fact that they had been assigned the good prof for that class. Ok, so that is a juvenile example of life from 20+ years ago. However, the point is valid. Instead of being thankful for health, the ability to go to a great college, having awesome friends and many wonderful professors and mentors, I chose to be ungrateful. Thankfulness and being grateful is a choice.

Life may really stink for you right now. I get that. However, I can guarantee you that if you take a thankful approach to life, your life’s perspective will improve even if your circumstances don’t. I have a friend that is wheelchair bound. She will never walk again due to an accident and compounding disease. However, if you talked with her you would never know it. She has been able to do great things in life not only despite her circumstances but because of her circumstances. That can be you, too.

Two Bible verses to encourage us in thankfulness. I Thessalonians 5:18 says, “Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.” Psalm 107:1 tell us what needs to be the focus of our thankfulness when it says, “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good and his steadfast love endures forever.”

Yep, it’s Thanksgiving. Make a difference this Thanksgiving and, most importantly, for the rest of your life. Do it for God, for yourself and for the people’s lives you impact. That will make this Thanksgiving one to remember and truly be thankful for.

Leave a Reply

